No Changes For Dublin Ahead Of Championship Clash Against Wexford

By July 13, 2018 No Comments

Promotional Poster For the Dublin senior camogie teams latest championship clash against Wexford which features a photo of the whole squad in sky blue jerseys and navy skorts

Dublin Manager David Herity Sticks With Same Side That Defeated Meath For Wexford Championship Clash


Liberty Insurance Senior Camogie Championship Group 2

Wexford v Dublin

Saturday July 14th

Venue: Bellefield, Enniscorthy

Throw-In: 5pm

Referee: John Dermody


Dublin manager David Herity has made no changes to his side ahead of tomorrow’s championship clash against Wexford.

Herity has shown full faith in the team that started last weeks victory over Meath in Trim as Dublin look to take another step in Enniscorthy tomorrow towards the knockout stages.

Dublin currently sit in fourth place in their group tied on six points with the two teams above them, Offaly and Tipperary who face each other tomorrow.

Wexford are currently in fifth place with no points as they have lost their three games to date and Dublin will be looking to capitalise on what may be a Wexford camp low on confidence.

But championship clashes between Wexford and Dublin can sometimes take on a life of their own and Mystic Meg would probably have a better chance of calling a winner.

Based on current results and form the bookies would probably give you low odds on a Dublin win, but bar Cork, most of the other teams in the group are fairly evenly matched and capable of beating each other.

The last championship clash between Dublin and Wexford was last year’s All Ireland quarter final in Semple Stadium.

It was a perfect example of how evenly matched the two sides are, Wexford started the game well and were three points up inside the opening five minutes of the game.

Dublin though settled into the game and by half time held a five point lead, although they had goalkeeper Faye McCarthy to thank for maintaining the lead as she saved a penalty in the fifth minute of injury time at the end of the first half.

McCarthy made a number of other crucial saves in the second half as Wexford mounted a comeback after the break.

With twelve minutes left in the game there was only a goal between the sides with the score 0-14 to 0-11 and Wexford at that stage had all the momentum.

But Dublin grabbed the crucial score when Ali Twomey pounced to flick the ball one handed just inside the post for the only goal of this particular championship clash.

That stopped the Wexford comeback in its tracks although Dublin keeper McCarthy was called upon again to make another excellent save from a Stacy Kehoe shot and Dublin claimed the victory and their first semi final appearance in 27 years.

Although Wexford are still to register their first win in this years competition, tomorrow’s championship clash between these two great rivals should be another tight affair.

A victory for Dublin tomorrow will see Herity’s side leapfrog into the qualifying places for the knockout stages and will set up a winner takes all game against Tipperary the following Sunday.


Dublin Starting 15:


1. Faye McCarthy

Naomh Jude


2. Martha O’Donoghue

Ballyboden St Endas


3. Aisling Carolan

St Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh


4. Emma O’Byrne

Good Counsel


5. Hannah Hegarty

Naomh Jude


6. Laura Twomey

Naomh Mearnóg


7. Miriam Twomey

Naomh Mearnóg


8. Roisin Baker

Na Fianna


9. Eimear McCarthy

Naomh Uinsionn


10. Alex Griffin

Na Fianna


11. Ali Twomey

Lucan Sarsfields


12. Siobhan Kehoe

Naomh Fionnbarra


13. Emma Flanagan

Lucan Sarsfields


14. Doireann Mullany

Ballyboden St Endas


15. Orla Beagan

Lucan Sarsfields




16. Sile Nic Coitir

Ballyboden St Endas


17. Arlene Cushen

Na Fianna


18. Catherine Costello

Faughs Celtic


19. Niamh Rock

Na Fianna


20. Mairi Moynihan

Lucan Sarsfields


21. Leah Butler

Naomh Jude


22. Grainne Quinn

Naomh Uinsionn


23. Ali Maguire

Naomh Uinsionn


24. Zoe O’Donoghue

Na Fianna


25. Eve O’Brien

Na Fianna


26. Orla Gray

Na Fianna


27. Niamh Gannon

Naomh Jude


28. Eimear O’Leary

Ballyboden St Endas


29. Emma Gray

Na Fianna

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :