By October 10, 2017 No Comments

Dublin Premier Junior Camogie Full Forward Aoife Bugler has been nominated for this year’s Player’s Player Of The Year in the Junior Category.

With the shortlist for the third Camogie Association/WGPA Award sponsored by Liberty Insurance being announced, it lists the Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh player alongside Laura Doherty of Westmeath, and Caoimhe McCrossan also of Westmeath.

This nomination, along with her Soaring Star nomination caps off a brilliant year for Bugler and Dublin Camogie across the board. But for Aoife it’s an honour that’s so fully deserved as she grew over the course of the season and was integral in Shane Plowman’s plans, reaching this year’s All Ireland Final.

Players who are members of an intercounty panel, participating in this year’s Championship will now be invited to vote on their Player of the Year based on the final shortlists.

Players are requested to submit their vote online or by e-mail to the WGPA before Wednesday October 18th at 5pm, with the overall recipients announced on the night of the Camogie All-Stars Awards on November 4th.

Speaking about the announcement Camogie Association President Catherine Neary said: “The Players’ Player of the Year Award is a unique and prestigious honour for any player given that this award recognises the esteem in which the winner is held among their peers. This is the third year of the Players’ Player of the Year Award and the Camogie Association is delighted once again in collaboration with both the WGPA and Liberty Insurance to recognises at a national level the immense contribution of our leading players.

“The Players’ Player of the Year Award is an acknowledgement of the achievements of a player across the three adult grades. It is a testament to the impact these players have had, on not just the wider Camogie community, but among their fellow players across all our intercounty teams, as it is their opponents who will vote and in so doing they will acknowledged the significant contribution of each of our award winners during the 2017 Championship season.”

This year’s nominees are as follows:

Senior Player of the Year Shortlist:
Rena Buckley (Cork)
Ashling Thompson (Cork)
Anne Dalton (Kilkenny)

Intermediate Player of the Year Shortlist:
Keeva McCarthy (Cork)
Emer Reilly (Kildare)
Claire Coffey (Meath)

Junior Player of the Year Shortlist:
Aoife Bugler (Dublin)
Laura Doherty (Westmeath)
Caoimhe McCrossan (Westmeath)

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :